colombia {day 3} parque tayrona

I’ve have never had a more comatose night’s sleep than during my time in Colombia. The heat, combined with the fact that we were on the go all day, every day, made for one death-like slumber each night.

When I arose from the dead, it was time to do work in the kitchen before heading out on our two-day camping trip in Parque Tayrona (that’s Tayrona National Park, for all you English speakers).

The can opener and accompanying rock (yes, rock) I had to work with were…different. It was challenging to figure out but—excuse me while I brush the dirt off my shoulder—I basically went pro in Colombian Can Opening after a few failed attempts.

Stocked with homemade hummus and freshly chopped carrots, we headed out to buy hammocks and make the Jeep ride to Tayrona.

After setting up camp, I promptly got bit by a barracuda. Seriously.

Ok, so I don’t necessarily know that it was a barracuda, but it sounds way more badass than saying I got bit by a “fish.”

A group of Colombian men were sitting on the beach nearby, and after seeing my dumb Gringa ass hobble out of the water bleeding, one dramatically ordered a little boy to go pee in a cup so I could dump it over my wound. Errr…no thanks.

It was terribly sweet of the little boy, but I subtly dumped his urine into the sand when no one was looking.

The rest of the day was spent on the beach drinking wine and watching the sun go down. At nightfall, a boat full of illegal fisherman pulled up onto the shore, but besides having to share our campsite with these new sketchballs, it was a great evening.

I can’t even explain how idyllic it was to curl up in a hammock on the beach and fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. I need to figure out how I can change my life so that this happens more often.

 

In case you missed it: colombia {day 1} traveling to the equator & colombia {day 2} taganga beach

Stay tuned for Day 4: snorkeling, sashimi, and my hair’s transformation into an odd seaweed/hay material.

Trackbacks

  1. […] {day 1} traveling to the equator colombia {day 2} taganga beach colombia {day 3} parque tayrona Share this: Pin ItShare on TumblrMoreDiggEmailPrintLike this:LikeOne blogger likes this post. […]

  2. […] {day 1} traveling to the equator colombia {day 2} taganga beach colombia {day 3} parque tayrona colombia {day 4} parque tayrona & snorkeling at playa de amor   Share this: Pin ItShare on […]

  3. […] {day 1} traveling to the equator colombia {day 2} taganga beach colombia {day 3} parque tayrona colombia {day 4} parque tayrona & snorkeling at playa de amor colombia {day 5} cartagena Share […]

  4. […] {day 1} traveling to the equator colombia {day 2} taganga beach colombia {day 3} parque tayrona colombia {day 4} parque tayrona & snorkeling at playa de amor colombia {day 5} cartagena […]

  5. […] {day 1} traveling to the equator colombia {day 2} taganga beach colombia {day 3} parque tayrona colombia {day 4} parque tayrona & snorkeling at playa de amor colombia {day 5} cartagena […]

Leave a Reply

