diy beaded ribbon chain necklace

Green has never really been my color, so when it comes to getting in the St. Paddy’s Day spirit, my wardrobe leaves me with few options outside of an old XXL Boston Celtics t-shirt I wear to bed. I know, I know, I’m a minx.

During my weekly trip to A.C. Moore (it’s ridiculous how often I go there), I spotted some funky green beads and a green-ish chain and decided I’d craft a necklace to show my love for this wonderful holiday that makes college-like drinking behavior acceptable. Green beer keg stands, anyone?

SUPPLIES

  • Chain
  • Ribbon (width needs to be small enough to fit through chain)
  • Small metal hoops/rings that (somewhat) match the chain
  • Beads
  • 34-gauge jewelry wire
  • Small pliers
  • Hot glue gun

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Separate the chain into multiple segments, each one about 1 inch longer than the last. Stagger the lengths of your strings of beads as well. This will create a nice layering effect. String the beads on the wire thread and use the pliers to tie the ends around the metal hoop rings.
  2. Weave the ribbon through some of the chain segments (over, under, over, under) and secure the ends with a dab of hot glue.
  3. Use the pliers to separate the end links of each chain strand and secure them around the hoop rings.
  4. Cut two long strands of ribbon, double-knot them around each hoop ring, secure ends with hot glue and voila—you’re done!

I probably won’t wear this to the Southie St. Paddy’s Day Parade on Sunday because I actually like it and don’t want to destroy it or lose it during hour 8 of day drinking, but I’ll definitely incorporate it into a work or weekend outfit in the next few days. Stay tuned! (Because I’m sure you’re all gripping the ends of your arm rests in anticipation of seeing me wear a green bead & chain necklace…)

 

Comments

  1. This is so awesome. I really can’t resist myself from commenting.

Leave a Reply

